A few things to think about when beginning your New Home Search

Before you begin your new home search it’s very important to create your own “reality shopping list” that will help you prioritize your choices because looking for a home is a very time-consuming activity, especially if you have not properly narrowed  what you need vs. what you want.

Ask yourself, do I NEED:

v  A specific number of square footage for comfortable living?

v  An eat-in kitchen?

v  Garage or basement for storage needs

v  Proximity to a specific school

v  All living areas on the first floor for health reasons?

Then ask, do I WANT:

v  A pretty view

v  Skylights

v  Carpeting colors or wood floors

v  Pool

Make sure to differentiate between the two and create the goal that emphasizes both criteria yet remains inside your budget.  Once you have a clear view of what your next house has to have, the job of finding the right one will become easier!

Equally important is to focus, as specifically as possible on these larger questions:

  • Why am I buying a new home?
  • What area do I really want to be in?
  • What do I want my home to be close to? Urban, country setting?
  • Is neighborhood stability a priority?
  • How much space do I need and why?
  • Which is more critical: location or size?
  • Would I be interested in a fixer-upper?
  • How important is home value appreciation?
  • Would I be interested in a condo?
  • What features and amenities do I want? Which do I really need?
  • What type of home am I looking for?
  • What are the schools like?

Once you are pre-approved and ready to begin your search, how or where do you begin? There are a lot of homes out there and diving in without a guide can become overwhelming and confusing.  A great agent will help you more accurately pinpoint homes that fit your criteria. The right home will meet all your important needs, and as many of your additional wants as possible.  Give me a call and I will be your guide through this challenging but exciting journey!

Leave a Reply

